Email Disclaimers Useless?


I get emails every day. Who doesn’t. I even send a few now and then (about 10 an hour, just for the record). And all of my emails have the same disclosure:

NOTICE: This communication may contain privileged or other confidential information. If you are not the intended recipient or believe that you may have received this communication in error, please reply to the sender indicating that fact and delete the copy you received. In addition, you should not print, copy, retransmit, disseminate, or otherwise use the information. Thank you

Not that I think I’m “All That” or anything. It’s just something that I was told to do. And now I see that those words may be utterly useless. The full story is here from the Economist. But rest assured, I’m going to ask my legal kangaroo if I have to put that in my email. If not, i’m going to save the 2 Kb per email for something useful.

About dotheroo

The Claim Your Youth team works with credit union professionals to better market to and reach young people... the future of credit unions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

